Celebrate the Arianna's 20th at UMSL!

May 3, 2019

The Arianna String Quartet (ASQ) celebrates their 20th year in St. Louis at the University of Missouri-St. Louis (UMSL) with another exciting concert series lineup up for 2019-2020!  Presenting stalwart giants of the chamber music literature along with seldom heard gems, works written by rising stars, and coupled with world-class guest artists, the ASQ’s 20th year promises to be another memorable one. 

Subscriptions are available now! The four concert package is $99 (plus $5 fee for web and phone orders). Plus, as a subscriber, you get a voucher valid for one free ticket to one ASQ performance. It's our way of helping you introduce the music you love to a friend. Single tickets go on sale August 6 at 10 a.m.


Friday, September 6, 2019 | Spotlight with Elisabeth Oar, cello


W.A. Mozart: Divertimento in E-flat Major, K. 563

Gideon Klein: String Trio (1944)

Anton Arensky: Quartet in A minor, Op. 35


The Arianna Quartet opens their 2019-20 series with a concert spotlight on the genius of Mozart, the remarkable imagination of Gideon Klein, and the artistic achievement of featured UMSL alumna, guest artist, Elisabeth Oar.  Mozart’s regal Divertimento for string trio kicks off the season, showcasing the lyricism and shimmering beauty of Mozart in one of his most celebrated and heralded masterpieces in all of classical music. Gideon Klein’s enthralling String Trio, written in 1944 just before his tragic death, takes us inside the mind and spirit of this young brilliant composer, a talent taken far too soon who was destined to shape and impact the music of the 20th century. Elisabeth Oar joins the ASQ in Anton Arensky’s soulfully rhapsodic quartet gem for violin, viola and two cellos, a seldom heard work that finds its inspiration in the rich, expressive depth of the Russian tradition. 


Friday, November 1, 2019 | Sound Spectrums with Alexandre Dossin, piano


Franz Liszt: Années de pèlerinage  - “Vallée d'Oberman”

Johannes Brahms: Piano Quartet in C minor, Op. 60

Antonín Dvořák: Piano Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 87


The ASQ is thrilled to welcome virtuoso pianist Alexandre Dossin back to the Touhill for an evening devoted to three unique sound worlds, set for piano solo and piano quartet.  Mr. Dossin begins the evening with one of Franz Liszt’s most intimate and personal works, the seldom heard “Vallée d'Obermann”, a masterpiece inspired by Etienne Pivert de Senancour’s novel of the same title, that explores eternal philosophical questions of the human psyche. Brahms’ ruminative and autobiographical tour de force, the Piano Quartet in C minor, Op. 60 follows, depicting a world of staggering beauty juxtaposed against personal struggle. Mr. Dossin and the ASQ round out the evening with a performance of Dvorak’s beloved Piano Quintet in E-flat Major, Op.87, a work of arresting strength and heartfelt intimacy, and with a healthy dose of Gypsy panache that all comes together to create an electrifying listening experience!    


Friday, March 6, 2020 | American Fantasy


Fredrick Tillis: Spiritual Fantasy No.12

Reena Esmail: String Quartet (Ragamala) (2013)

Antonín Dvořák: Quartet in F Major, Op. 96,  “American”


In a program dedicated to the boundlessness of the American spirit, the Arianna Quartet performs three quartets that showcase distinct and diverse soundscapes inspired by American experiences. The ASQ leads this program with Frederick Tillis’ Spiritual Fantasy No.12, an exultant and contemplative jazz and spiritual inspired work that embodies the sound of Tillis’ unique American perspective.  American composer Reena Esmail’s mesmerizing string quartet “Ragamala” follows, exploring the layered textures of the Indian tradition of raags, where free explorations and elaborations of singular musical ideas evolve into transcendent expressions of time and space.  Dvorak’s celebratory “American” Quartet rounds out the evening with a fusion of sounds inspired by Native American drumming traditions, African American spirituals, twittering birdcalls from the American Midwest, and Czech folk music tradition.


Friday, May 8, 2020 | Autobiography


Felix Mendelssohn: Quartet in E-flat Major, Op. 44, No. 3

John Corigliano: “Snapshot”

Ludwig van Beethoven: Quartet in A minor, Op. 132


In the season finale, the ASQ presents works that promise to thrill, chill and fill your heart with the personal perspectives of three masters of expression that capture the breath of the human experience.  Mendelssohn’s quartet, Op. 44, No. 3, opens with grandeur and nobility, and sizzles with the virtuosity of a musical master at the pinnacle of his powers. “Snapshot,” John Corigliano’s poetic miniature for string quartet, reflects upon the combined simplicity and complexity of a moment captured in time, in memory and imagination.  Finally, the ASQ concludes their season with Beethoven’s glorious Op. 132 quartet, a work unparalleled in its depiction of fragility, power and the wonderment of the human experience.