presented by UMSL Global

  • Apr 3 , 2020
  • $25
  • Seniors (65+): $15 | Students: $15


    UMSL Student and Employee discounts available for this performance. Please visit the Touhill Ticket Office with UMSL ID for more information and to purchase discounted tickets. 



  • Purchase Tickets

KYO-SHIN-AN ARTS  returns to St. Louis and its partnership with the  Arianna String Quartet for a third appearance at the Touhill Performing Arts Center.

KAMMERRAKU ANNIVERSARY celebrates The Arianna Quartet’s 20th season at the University of Missouri St. Louis and Kyo-Shin-An Arts’ 10th Anniversary Septet Project. Together they are launching a new decade of music blending Japanese and Western traditions.

The Arianna String Quartet: John McGrosso and Julia Sakharova, violins; Joanna Mendoza, viola and Kurt Baldwin, cello
Sumie Kaneko, koto and voice
Yoko Reikano Kimura, shamisen and voice James Nyoraku Schlefer, shakuhachi

The Septet Project is a unique, two-season commissioning initiative for sankyokū trio (shakuhachi, koto, and shamisen with voice) and string quartet. This instrumentation is an inspiring combination, rich in textures and sonoritie that showcase the virtuosity of two rigorous traditions. It is also an ultimate cultural marriage - two iconic ensembles that blossomed during the same historical period, one in the opulent courts of Europe and the other in the Imperial palaces of Edo Japan. This performance features an international array of composers with commissioned septets by Japanese artist Yoko Sato and American James Matheson, plus a contemporary trio for Japanese instruments by James Nyoru Schlefer and a string quartet by Swiss-American composer Daniel Schnyder.

James Nyoraku Schlefer - We Shall (Surely) Meet again (2017) a Kyo-Shin-An
Arts Commission
Yoko Sato - Septet, Title TBD (2020) a Kyo-Shin-An Arts commission
Daniel Schnyder - String Quartet No. 4 “Great Places”
James Matheson - Septet, Title TBD (2020) a Kyo-Shin-An Arts commission

Performance Time

    Friday, April 3, 2020 - 8:00 PM Add to cal
Print This Page